Desk and Derrick Club

 of Dallas

 "Greater Knowledge 

- Greater Service"

Meeting Information 


Our meetings are held every first Thursday of the month, lunch is served promptly at 12:00 p.m. Reservations must be made by the Tuesday before the meeting at 12:00pm. 

The cost of the meal is $22.00 cash 

or check or $23.00-credit card.

(There are no meetings in July or December)




The meeting will be held at the

Lakeside Square Office Tower

(first floor meeting room)

12377 Merit Drive

Dallas, Texas 75251

September Speaker

Jill Beam


Jill Beam is a native Texan.  She grew up in Oak Cliff and graduated from DW Carter HS.  After graduating high school, Jill attended Dallas Baptist College, majoring in Physical Education and Recreation.  Jill also has a degree in Gerontology from the University of Colorado Springs, Colorado.    


Jill began employment with the City of Dallasin 1972.  She has held many positions and has recently retired after 28 years of service as the Athletic and Reservations Manager.  While working for the City of Dallas, Jill served as the City Manager’s Customer Service Trainer and taught over 13,000 employees for many years, the importance of customer service.  Jill received many awards while employed with the City of Dallas to include the Director’s Trophy, Lifetime Achievement Award, and the Customer Service Award. 


Jill is a member of several professional organizations to include Texas Recreation and Park Society, National Recreation and Park Association, Southwest Park and Recreation Training Institute, and the American Association of American Women.  Jill has been a presenter at many national conferences and really enjoys public speaking.  She won the Recreation Professional of the year statewide in 2016.  She is well known in the Park and Recreation Profession.


Jill continues to speak publicly for book clubs, Lion’s Clubs, Rotary Clubs, Women’s organizations and church organizations. 


Jill has rewired herself and is currently employed with the City of Rowlett, as the programmer of Senior Services.


Jill also taught school for the DISD, where she taught tap and jazz dance at the Elementary Arts Magnet School, Sidney Lanier.


Jill is a certified Jazzercise Instructor and has been instructing classes since 1980.  She was the trainer for Jazzercise 1997 through 2008.  Jill also teaches Junior Jazzercise to children, K-5, four times a week. 


Jill taps weekly with Class Act Tap Company.  They are well known for taping all over the Dallas/Fort Worth area. 


Jill  enjoys playing her flute and entertaining.  She also enjoys playing golf with her husband.  Jill resides in Forney, TX and is married to Ken Beam, who also recently retired from the City of Dallas Park Department.   She has two step children and three step grandchildren. 


Jill has performed in the Spectacular Senior Follies for the past six years, where she was in the dance ensemble and a Follies Show Girl.  Jill is  Ms Texas Senior America, 2015-2016.  Jill was the director of the Ms Texas Senior America Pageant from 2012-2014.  She couldn’t wait until she turned 60 years young so she could compete.  She went to Atlantic City, New Jersey, to compete in Ms Senior America, where she made it to the top 10.  Jill is the reigning Ms Senior USA and competed for the title of Ms Senior USA and made it to the top 10 and won the title of Ms Congeniality.    Jill also holds the title of Ms Senior Texas USA and went on to compete for Ms Senior USA, in Las Vegas,  and placed in the top 10 out of 49 contestants. 


 Jill enjoys performing and her philosophy of life is…”life has no remote so get up and change it”!